Niger Delta militants threaten South African firms in the region

The groups have asked 18 South African companies and personnel to leave the region or risk attacks

They decried the attacks on Nigerians in South Africa

Militant groups in the Niger Delta have asked 18 South African companies and personnel to leave the region or risk attacks, The Guardian reports

The threat was contained in a joint petition to the South African High Commission in Nigeria and signed by General John Duku of the Niger Delta Watchdogs, General Ekpo Ekpo of Niger Delta Volunteers and General Hart Bradford of the Niger Delta Strike Force.

They warned of an imminent attack on all South Africans business interests, adding that they could no longer sit and watch innocent Nigerians being killed in the southern Africa nation.

The militants’ position was made known after their meeting in Port Harcourt on Wednesday, March 1.

They condemned the recent attack on Nigerians and pledged reprisals that would target the country’s economic interests in Nigeria.

Part of the petition read: “Our attention has been drawn to the series of unprovoked attack, looting, shutting down of business offices, killing and maiming of Nigerian nationals living in South Africa.”

“It is so regrettable that a country and nationals that had enjoyed the greatest affection of Nigerians was now repaying such hospitality with mindless killing and brutality.”

To this end, the militants urged the Nigerian government to shut all the business premises owned by South Africans such as MTN, Multi-choice, Shoprite, Eskom Nigeria, South African Breweries (SAB Miller) and others.

The militants maintained that the South African government and her citizens have a number of businesses in Nigeria, going about their normal businesses peacefully, making huge profits and living in a very friendly environment with Nigerians.

Meanwhile, the Nigerian Senate has released the names of a 7-man delegation to South Africa to investigate the ongoing xenophobic attacks in the country.

Below is the list of the members of the delegation:

1. Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Ike Ekweremadu

3. The Chief Whip, Senator Sola Adeyeye

4. Deputy Chairman, Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, Senator Shehu Sani

5. Senator Stella Oduah,

6. Senator Magnus Abe

7. Senator Shaba Lafiaji

ALSO:Xenophobia: 156 arrested as S’Africa anti-immigrant protests erupt in Pretoria